Marathon Precept Chanting for Peace Weekend | 9-10 April 2022

AU$235

Description

Chanting for inner and world peace

Chanting the precepts in Japanese is a wonderful way to stay mindful and focused. Through being focused we get less distracted by all the distracted thoughts in our mind. This in turn will help us to be less angry and worried, which in turn will help us to be more grateful and kind.

But to really work on this it is sometimes good to do an intensive marathon chanting practice. Through these intense practices we lay a much better foundation for our own healing work and helping others. Peace within ourselves equals peace in the world.

Of course we can do this once a day for 20 minutes but as we all know our minds are so confused these days and the world is in such a disarray, therefore sometimes we need to spend a whole weekend focusing on calming our own mind so that the world can become calmer too.

“If there is to be peace in the world,
There must be peace in the nations.
If there is to be peace in the nations,
There must be peace in the cities.
If there is to be peace in the cities,
There must be peace between neighbors.
If there is to be peace between neighbors,
There must be peace in the home.
If there is to be peace in the home,
There must be peace in the heart.”
― Lao-tse

Join me and many others from around the world on this marathon precepts chanting weekend.

You can join the whole event or just parts of it, up to you!

We will chant the precepts for 45 min, starting at each hour mentioned below, then we have a 15 min break and do the next round. There will be a bigger break for lunch and dinner.

Amsterdam 7am – 8am – 9am & 1pm – 2pm – 3 pm & 8pm – 9pm
London 6am – 7am – 8am & 12 pm – 1pm – 2pm & 7pm – 8pm
Los Angeles (previous day)10pm – 11pm -12am & same day 4am – 5am – 6am & 10am – 11am
New York 1am – 2am – 3am & 7am – 8am – 9am & 1pm – 2pm
Sydney 3pm – 4pm – 5pm & 9pm -10am -11 pm & (next day) 3am – 5am

“While we are busy complaining and looking for reasons to dislike or be angry with our circumstances and the people around us, we still expect ourselves to be happy. But if our minds are only looking for problems, how can we be? If gratitude and appreciation are lacking in our lives, we will miss the path to happiness.”- Gyalwang Drukpa, Jigme Pema Wangchen